This morning.

This morning I woke up in a warm bed, in a warm apartment, to the alarm going off on my Blackberry smartphone.  I woke up healthy and with air in my lungs.  I got out of bed and used a bathroom that has indoor plumbing.  Then I filled a tea kettle with clean water and turned on the gas stove with the turn of a dial.  I ground coffee beans with my new coffee grinder.  I poured cereal in a bowl and ate breakfast.  I drank my coffee with fat free half and half.  I sat on a comfortable couch with a roof over my head and opened up my expensive laptop.

Do I see how much I have to be thankful for in the above paragraph?  Do I also see how much I could very well do without?  Do I recognize the abundance?

I don’t say these things in an attempt to create guilt.  Really, I don’t.  But I needed to be reminded.  Maybe you needed to be reminded, too.  The apostle Paul said, “In everything give thanks” (1 Thess. 5:18).  My life should be filled with thanksgiving.  Not just for the material possessions I mentioned above, but for all things, and, above all, for Jesus.  Everything I have is a gift from God.  The more I cultivate a heart of thanksgiving, the more I recognize that, and the more apt I am to be generous with what I’ve been given.  Why?  Because I understand that it was never mine to begin with.  All I have, and all I am, is God’s.

The rich and the poor have a common bond,
The LORD is maker of them all.
Proverbs 22:2

For the poor will never cease to be in the land; therefore I command you, saying, ‘You shall freely open your hand to your brother, to your needy and poor in your land.’
Deuteronomy 15:11

 What are you thankful for today?

2 Comments to “This morning.”

  1. Loving your posts…found your through Bianca’s blog, In the Name of Love. =)

    I’m thankful for my job, the students I get to impact although they can be quite a handful, for my church family, for my family that loves me unconditionally, for my husband and his obedience to God’s call on His life, for my co-workers, for my small apartment that we rent out which enables us to live under our means to do other things like go on vacation and give to others in need, I could keep going and going.

    Grateful that you reminded me to do this…I was actually going to blog about this myself today. It’s so refreshing when we’re able to shift the focus off of the things we think we lack to all God has blessed us with.

    • Thanks so much for commenting, Indy! I love all that you shared. I’m reminded how a heart of thanksgiving can really change how we see everything else. Looking forward to reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

