A matter of trust.

I mentioned in a recent blog that I often start a post with a subject and a general outline in mind, and before I know it I’ve ended up elsewhere.  As of late, I’ve found that to be true in the lessons I’m learning from the Lord.

Recently, God laid it on my heart to take a certain matter one day at a time.  I have a tendency to look further down the road and attempt to predict the outcome.  Sometimes, what I think I see afar isn’t ideal, and so I start to experience fear and change my mind about what it is I “ought” to do.  Oh, sure, God has confirmed through His word and in various other capacities what He’s asking of me.  But no, I can’t possibly do it.  The future looks far too scary.

Needless to say, having that attitude and trying to predict what will or won’t happen as a result of my obedience has left me frustrated and has caused a sense of shame as the struggle perpetuates.

But then there’s that glorious truth: His mercies are new every morning, and His compassions fail not (See Lamentations 3:21-23).

The Lord has carried me through each day with that truth for the past couple of weeks.  I thought the lesson in all of it was to take it “one day at a time”.  While that may be partially true, the Lord, in His grace, is revealing an even bigger truth and lesson to be taken hold of:

He is trustworthy.

One day at a time means I do not worry about what’s waiting weeks, months and years down the road.  It means I trust in the goodness and grace of Jesus and in the fact that each and every detail of my life and the lives of others is laid bare before Him (Hebrews 4:13).  I don’t need to know everything, because God knows, and He holds my hand (Psalm 73:23, Isaiah 41:13).  He is trustworthy (Psalm 33:4).

The matter isn’t so much my obedience.  The matter isn’t about what I have or haven’t done at all.  It’s a matter of trust.  Do I trust in the knowledge, power, goodness and love of the Almighty God?  Do I believe His word when it says, “No good thing will He withhold from those who walk uprightly” (Psalm 84:11)?  As I grow in trust, the obedience will be a natural overflow.  Taking it one day at a time is teaching me to trust, to stop reaching for answers and to merely walk in the grace and strength of my Savior daily.  He is faithful to remind me constantly that He knows me.  He knows what I think and feel and hope for.  He’s not ignorant of the things that I face daily (Psalm 31:7, 38:9).  He is with me.  He loves me.

He is trustworthy.

Leave a Reply

