Sweet and Salty

It seems like every day someone’s come up with a new pairing for chocolate.  Lately I’ve been hearing a lot about the chocolate/bacon combination.  I’ve yet to try it (and, admittedly, it freaks me out a bit) but I’m guessing it’s delicious because of the combination: sweet and salty.

I looooove that combination.  Who doesn’t love a good chocolate covered pretzel?  There’s a mexican restaurant back home that serves this mudslide pie that I absolutely adore.  It has a pretzel crust!  It’s something I probably wouldn’t have thought of on my own, and for years after I first tried it I’ve been saying I’ll try making it myself.  Well, that day finally came due to nothing more than boredom.  And maybe the desire for a cold, sweet (and salty!) treat.

In order to keep things super simple, I decided to make the crust and then simply fill it with vanilla ice cream.  Then I got ambitious and melted up some chocolate chips and some peanut butter to make a drizzly topping.  This recipe is totally flexible and you could really use any kind of ice cream and any toppings you fancy.  Yep, I said it: fancy.

Next time I make it I’d also like to try to spread melted chocolate on top of the pretzel crust and let it harden before putting the ice cream in.  Then you’d have a layer of the pretzel crust, a thin layer of chocolate, and a layer of ice cream.  Doesn’t that sound delightful?  I think so, too.

Disclaimer: This sounded so darn good that I got impatient.  I didn’t let the crust cool before putting the ice cream in it and well… I’ve been waiting for the ice cream to reset for HOURS now.  Don’t be like me, folks.  Stick the pie pan in the freezer for at least a half hour and let it cool.  Otherwise, you’ll think you’re going to be able to eat it sooner and the opposite happens.  Ice cream melts must faster than it freezes, I’ve learned. Sigh….

Brittany’s Sweet & Salty Ice Cream Pie

For the crust:
2 cups of crushed pretzels
1/2 cup of butter, softened (you may need a bit more)
2 tablespoons of brown sugar
Thoroughly mix the above ingredients and press into a 9-inch pie pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes. LET COOL. (Please, please, please don’t be a doofus like me.)

For the filling/topping:
1 quart of your preferred flavor of ice cream, softened
1/4 cup of melted chocolate chips, drizzled on top (optional)
1/4 cup of melted peanut butter, drizzles on top (optional)
Suggested topping ideas: chopped nuts, sprinkles, caramel sauce, fruit (sliced strawberries, bananas, etc.)

Once pie crust has cooled, spread ice cream evenly on top and add desired toppings.  Put back in the freezer to set.

Leave a Reply

