God is a lot nicer than I am.

Just over a month ago, I was walking to the subway after a prayer meeting and talking with a friend.  It’s funny, the topic of conversation had come up the day before with different friends.  We were discussing how amazingly loving and patient God is with us and how too often we seem to think God speaks to us like we speak to ourselves.  As if He’s shaking His head saying, “Brittany, how many times do I have to tell you?  How long is it going to take you to GET IT? Are you stupid?”  He is not AT ALL that way.  Sure, that’s how we speak to ourselves (not that this is right, mind you).  But then we project that same attitude on God.  We conform Him to our thoughts.  The truth is, the thoughts of a holy, righteous, loving God are nothing like our thoughts.

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts,
Nor are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD.
“For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
So are My ways higher than your ways
And My thoughts than your thoughts.”

Isaiah 55: 8,9

I could sit here all day and reference scripture about His love and His kindness and His patience.  But my point could probably be wrapped up in this:

“But You, O Lord, are a God merciful and gracious,
Slow to anger and abundant in lovingkindness and truth.”

Psalm 86:15

God is much nicer than I am.  He is much more loving when He speaks to me than I am when I speak to myself.  Yes, there are lessons to be learned and changes to be made.  But God is my Father and His correction and discipline is done in love.  And the even better news is that He wants to do the work in me, for my good and for His glory.

“For it is God who is at work in you, both to will and to work for His good pleasure.”
Philippians 2:13

Leave a Reply

