Archive for April 21st, 2010

April 21, 2010

orange marmalade.

As I was laying in bed last night, about to fall asleep, my mind went to Ethiopia and all the little details that tend to get lost in the bigger picture.

I was remembering falling asleep in Ambo while next door there was always some sort of party happening and drums being played.  I remembered how early we’d get up in the mornings to meet for breakfast in the hotel restaurant.  I remembered the waiter who would just smile at us and say “eshhhhhi” to everything we said.  I remembered ordering eggs, toast and coffee with milk every single morning.  I remembered the morning they didn’t milk the cow, forcing us to have our coffee without milk.  And I remembered the orange marmalade we’d get with our toast and how delicious it was. Now I’m really wishing I had some orange marmalade on hand.

Isn’t it funny how the little things can be such comforting or heartwarming thoughts?  Don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of bigger moments from Ethiopia that still make me laugh, smile and/or cry.  But something as seemingly insignificant as breakfast… I just miss being gathered around the big table with my team, talking and laughing… and eating toast with orange marmalade.

I think I’ll go to the store and buy some today.

