a beautiful day.

I started yesterday morning with pancakes from scratch, scrambled eggs, an apple and a yummy cup of coffee from the french press.  I can think of no better way to start a day off.

I headed into Central Park early in the afternoon and spent some time reading my Bible and listening to music at my favorite spot.  It’s right on the lake and I love the view.

Central Park

After some good alone time, I met up with my roommate Anna and friend Jessey for some coffee at Aroma, the spot that Tori introduced Amber and I to last week.  Seriously, the coffee is so yummy, and so was the sandwich I got- mozzarella, tomato and basil with balsamic vinegar on fresh baked whole wheat bread.  Are you kidding?! Delicious.

Aroma Coffee

At 7pm, Anna and I went to the Good Friday service at Redeemer on the Upper West Side.  I’d been to Redeemer once before for a Sunday service, and Anna’s really been wanting to go, so we went!

Good Friday is such a beautiful reminder of what Jesus did for us on the cross.  I was thinking yesterday about how grateful I am to know that it doesn’t end there.  I would encourage you to go pick up your Bible and read the accounts of Jesus’ crucifixion and resurrection.  Let’s not forget what Good Friday and Easter are truly about- our crucified Savior and our risen King.

“…and while being reviled, He did not revile in return; while suffering, He uttered no threats, but kept entrusting Himself to Him who judges righteously; and He Himself bore our sins in His body on the cross, so that we might die to sin and live to righteousness; for by His wounds you were healed.” 1 Peter 2:23,24

“Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. For consider Him who has endured such hostility by sinners against Himself, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.” Hebrews 12:1-3

Leave a Reply

