when you wish upon a star…

Since my last post I have traveled to Orlando, Florida and back on a brief vacation.  Eileen moved down there in September so I wanted to go visit her, as well as my friend Kori.  It was so good to spend time with Eileen and see the life that she has down south.

On Friday, Eileen’s parents and her aunt (who were staying in Cocoa Beach) came to pick us up and we all headed to Tampa for a Yankees spring training game.  Those of you who know me know that I love those pinstriped baseball players!  They beat the Tigers 6-2 and I was excited to see A-Rod’s first homer of spring training and to see Mariano Rivera pitch.

My boys!

Best friends

On Saturday we got up bright and early to meet Kori and head to the Disney parks!  We started out at Hollywood Studios at 9am, then to Animal Kingdom, followed by Epcot and finishing it off with Magic Kingdom… where we stayed until midnight!

Needless to say, it was a LONG, LONG day.  But we had SO much fun and I felt like a kid again! :)  The weather on Saturday was absolutely fantastic. Sunny and about 80!  Unfortunately, the rest of my time there was a bit cloudy and cool.  Nonetheless, it was good to be away from the city and to relax for a few days.  Eileen and I got to spend a lot of quality time together and I think that’s something we both really miss!  It’s just not the same over the phone or through emails and IM.

Now I’m happily back in New York.  Today was a beautiful day although I think there’s a lot of those spring showers in our future.  I’m so looking forward to warm and sunny days in Central Park, wandering aimlessly and finding new little spots to sit and read a book.

This coming Saturday I’m having girls night at my place and cooking lasagna for friends.  I’ll be sure to post the recipe and pictures for ya!  I’m so thankful for the kind and encouraging friends the Lord has blessed me with here in the city.  It’s nice to step away from our busy lives for a bit and spend quality time together.

Hope you’re all enjoying the spring-like weather!

Leave a Reply

