Ethiopia 2010?

I haven’t written here in a while.  There are probably several reasons for this, but if I’m being honest, it feels like my trip this past summer was a different life entirely.  I don’t like admitting that.  When I came back I was determined that my life would never look the same.  I was sure that I would never let it feel like a distant memory.

It’s a frustrating feeling.  I remember walking down Park Avenue the day I returned from Africa.  I remember looking around and feeling like a fish out of water and wondering what all of this was for- the money, the tall, extravagant buildings, the luxury apartments.  It was everything Africa was not.  And I missed Africa.

For a little while that feeling continued.  But somewhere along the way, days started going by during which I didn’t think about my trip.  And soon it was weeks.  Lately, though, the memories are back and I find myself thinking of Ethiopia and the people there often.

I didn’t anticipate returning to Ethiopia this summer, but when I heard about the trip Mocha Club made just this past couple weeks, I began thinking about going back.  When I received the email about the upcoming summer trips, I began to seriously consider it.  What happens next is prayer.  And lots of it. :)

I’m writing this post to ask that you pray with me.  Pray that if the Lord wants me to return to serve the people of Ethiopia, that He would direct me in that.  Pray that whether I go back or not, that He shows me how to live in a way that glorifies Him and puts into practice all He taught me during my time in Africa.  Pray that He would enlarge my heart for those in need of Him, both here and overseas.  Pray that no matter what I do and where I go, that Jesus would be the center of it all–that He would always be my Reason and my Strength and my Guide.  If I go, I go in His name.  If I stay, I stay in His name.

Whoever speaks, is to do so as one who is speaking the utterances of God; whoever serves is to do so as one who is serving by the strength which God supplies; so that in all things God may be glorified through Jesus Christ, to whom belongs the glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.” 1 Peter 4:11

One Comment to “Ethiopia 2010?”

  1. I will say a prayer tonight that you end taking the path you should and are at peace with it.

    Best of Luck!!

Leave a Reply

