simplicity

Last night when I got home, I started working on a pasta salad for tonight’s home fellowship and put on a Boundless podcast to listen to while I was at it.  First off, I love the Boundless website and podcasts.  Okay, now that we’ve got that out of the way- they were interviewing Phil Joel and his wife Heather.  I would never have known Phil Joel was formerly of the Newsboys if they hadn’t said it.  I’m not an old-school Christian, so I don’t really know much, if anything, about the Newsboys.  Anywho, the two of them were sharing about a time in their lives when they realized God had lost priority in their lives.  He was somewhere far down the list and ahead of Him were all of these seemingly good things, but they were pretty meaningless if He didn’t come first.

It really spoke to how I’ve been feeling lately.  If my relationship with Christ is not number one, it doesn’t matter how many “Christian things” I’m doing.  I can load up my schedule with Bible studies and church services and fellowship and it won’t matter if I haven’t been seeking Him myself.  Those things aren’t bad in-and-of themselves, of course.  They just need to be done with the right heart.

I think God is affirming what I’d already been feeling- that I need to look at my schedule and see what maybe doesn’t need to be there so that I can spend more time with Him.  More time reading the Bible, more time in prayer.  More time with just me and the Lord.  If I desire that, how much more does He?

Needless to say, I had a good night.  I was able to mull over some things and also make this delicious pasta salad to share at home fellowship tonight:
24636144Speaking of simple, this totally was:

penne rigate
fresh mozzarella cheese, cubed
grape tomatoes, halved
fresh basil, roughly chopped
olive oil

YUM!

Leave a Reply

