go in peace

bettyThis is Betty. I gave her a pedicure on our first day at Women At Risk.  I knew enough Amharic to be able to ask her name.  Then I asked how old she was- she’s 18. During our time at Women At Risk, Betty was awfully quiet. I’d often see her go off to the side by herself and just sit and observe. That day I decided to join her. We didn’t have much to say given the language barrier, but I think it was okay. It broke my heart that this sweet girl had been through things I couldn’t imagine. Here I was, five years her senior, and yet this girl had seen the hardest of times. When I was 18 I went to college. My parents provided. I had no cares or worries. Meeting Betty put things into perspective.  I pray that whatever pain and hurt she has suffered, whatever shame she may feel, that she would truly know and grasp the amazing love with which Jesus loves her- that just as Jesus said to the prostitute who washed His feet with her tears, He will say to Betty, “Your faith has saved you; go in peace.”

Leave a Reply

