I miss you.

I miss you.

I miss you, Addis. I miss you, Abrahet. I miss you, Selam. I miss you, Segarada. I miss you, Howee. I miss you, Giftikia. I miss you, Tura. I miss you, Surafel. I miss you, Tadios. I miss you, Donawhet. I miss you, Romiya. I miss you, Derebe. I miss you, Tgist. I miss you, Sefen. I miss you, Genet. I miss you, Rael. I miss every face, every voice, every story.

I miss you, Africa.

[Warning: Several name spellings were butchered in the making of this blog post.]

2 Comments to “I miss you.”

  1. Hey Brittany,

    I don’t even know how I landed upon your blog, but I’ve had it sitting in my Google Reader for a while and just happened to glance at it this morning.

    I’ve gone to Ethiopia twice now (on a 2 week trip in ’08 and then a month long trip this past summer). I know this post is old…but I know the sentiment is probably still so very deep.

    I guess I’m writing to say, that it’s okay. To miss people. To love them across an ocean. And although I don’t know all the people you listed, I know some of them (or some that have the same names but I know for a fact are a different one than you are referring to). And to tell you the truth, I miss them too.

    Hope you are doing well. Tchoa konjo (bye beautiful)

    Cheers,
    Melissa

    • Melissa! Thank you so much for your words. I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to respond. I have to tell you, this post came at a time when I was trying to figure out whether or not I should return to Ethiopia. I did go back, and am so incredibly thankful for the opportunity. I got to see several of the people I listed here, and was reminded that I have a God who loves and cares for them whether I am physically there or not.

      I wrote more about this past trip on my other blog: http://brittleigh.wordpress.com (I really should consolidate these! haha)

      Egziabher yebarkesh, gewadegna! (God bless you, friend) :)

      Brittany

Leave a Reply

