peace in my heart.

I love the video I posted earlier for so many reasons. It gets me excited for the possibility of traveling to Ethiopia this summer. It also moves me because of the truth found in it, and the faith found in the people pictured.

I love the part that says “It is Africa that has taught me that possessions in my hands will never be as valuable as peace in my heart.”

I’d love to say that I know that truth. I’d love to tell you that I, myself, have not bought into the lie that what we have can make us happy. Sure, I know that it SHOULDN’T. I know that the Bible tells me to store up treasures in heaven where neither moth nor rust destroys (Matthew 6:19). But do I know that in my heart? My poor budgeting thus far in living on my own tells me that certainly I haven’t learned that. I am learning slowly but surely, and I have a feeling this trip will do more to change me, in that and so many other ways, than I can possibly fathom at this point.

There is a part of me that is nervous and doesn’t know what to expect, but I am trusting that God has called me to do this, and that He who calls is faithful (1 Thessalonians 5:24). He will lead me, provide for me, teach me.

My call is to go to Ethiopia and serve these people with humility and love. My call is to show them the love of Jesus. But when push comes to shove, I have so little to teach these people, and so much to learn from them.

I will know within a week if, indeed, I will be heading to Africa this summer. Please keep me, as well as those I will travel with and those I will serve, in your prayers over the coming days, weeks, and months.

God bless,
Brittany

Leave a Reply

